PA - EMT/paramedic

Hey y’all.

I recently moved to a VERY small/rural town with a volunteer EMT unit. I was not an EMT prior to PA school, and have been a NICU PA since graduating/residency in 2014.

When everyone in the town found out I was a PA, they’ve been eager for me to come on board and help our unit expand from BLS to ALS, ect.

I guess I’m looking for advice moving forward. Clearly I have no paramedic/EMT background and am VERY specialized in my PA practice. I’d love to get out of my niche and expand my role, and I think this is a great place to do that.

Any advice? Is there a PA/paramedic bridge? Just looking where to start. 

Thanks!

1 hour ago, nicuPAC said:

Hey y’all.

I recently moved to a VERY small/rural town with a volunteer EMT unit. I was not an EMT prior to PA school, and have been a NICU PA since graduating/residency in 2014.

When everyone in the town found out I was a PA, they’ve been eager for me to come on board and help our unit expand from BLS to ALS, ect.

I guess I’m looking for advice moving forward. Clearly I have no paramedic/EMT background and am VERY specialized in my PA practice. I’d love to get out of my niche and expand my role, and I think this is a great place to do that.

Any advice? Is there a PA/paramedic bridge? Just looking where to start. 

Thanks!

In all honesty I'd strongly consider attending a paramedic course prior to trying to make that step.  As mentioned above it's all just...different.  The logistics are different, diagnostic modalities (or lack thereof), treatments, whether you'd need to stand by the protocols or the medical director would be more laissez faire...There's just a lot.

https://ems.creighton.edu/programs/ems-certificates/paramedic-certification-course-health-care-professionals