New Grad job hunt in the age of COVID-19

Hello All,

Thank you, in advance, for your time in reading this and for your responses.

I am a Dec 2020 graduate who has so far found a brick wall in place of an open job market. To be fair, I had some moving (Triad area NC) and some husband related delays that started me off late in job hunting, but now that I am getting into late summer, my desperation is starting to pique. I have dealt with the struggle of the application process in the past, so it is not a total shock that I have to submit 100 applications for 1 potential email back. However, I did expect a little more opportunity that I am currently seeing. I do not know how much of my struggle is the normal struggle of a new grad vs the COVID-19 market. I have applied and applied, and networked, and applied. I am continuing to edit my CV with a professional career coach. I have become familiar with all the big health organizations in the area. I have emailed and cold-called smaller groups. I have worked on improving my Link-in and have started volunteering. I have done everything I can think of and am constantly checking back online to watch my applications (sometimes swiftly and sometimes slowly) move from "submitted" to "reviewed" to "not selected". I feel like I cannot even get one foot in the door. The most frustrating part is to see the same job opportunities continue to be advertised even as I am "not selected", which says to me "we would rather keep it open than take a chance on you". (Aside- sorry for the pessimism, but it is very much my current state of emotion). For the life of me, I am unable to move past the conundrum of needing a job to get experience to get a job.

My question is posed to both fellow new graduates and seasoned PA's. How are you dealing with/ would you deal with the current job market coming in as a new practitioner? How do you get in front of a live person to even get the chance to pitch yourself? 

35 minutes ago, kettle said: