Switching careers, where to start

Hi everyone, I’m strongly considering switching careers. Through a long process involving personal growth & talking with friends & family, I feel that being a PA will be a great fit for me. My ultimate career goal would be to work in dermatology, though I am open to other specialties and look forward to exploring that in school. 

My background is in the creative industry, I have a BFA and I’ve been running a design business for the past 8 years. I have next to no pre-requisites to go into a science-based field, so I’m really starting from scratch. My question is, where do I get started? Can I begin by shadowing a PA or two without any prior health experience? Should I look into volunteering before even looking into schools? 

I feel like mine is a more uphill road than for others, but I’d like to know how best to get started so I can plot the course and figure out what it will take to make this work. Thanks an advance for any recommendations!

18 hours ago, ElizabethHM said:

Hi everyone, I’m strongly considering switching careers. Through a long process involving personal growth & talking with friends & family, I feel that being a PA will be a great fit for me. My ultimate career goal would be to work in dermatology, though I am open to other specialties and look forward to exploring that in school. 

My background is in the creative industry, I have a BFA and I’ve been running a design business for the past 8 years. I have next to no pre-requisites to go into a science-based field, so I’m really starting from scratch. My question is, where do I get started? Can I begin by shadowing a PA or two without any prior health experience? Should I look into volunteering before even looking into schools? 

I feel like mine is a more uphill road than for others, but I’d like to know how best to get started so I can plot the course and figure out what it will take to make this work. Thanks an advance for any recommendations!