Dismissed from US MD school. How does this affect my application?

Hi,

Looking for some guidance on this thread. I was dismissed from a US MD school last year for academic performance. I was a second year medical student who failed two courses infectious disease and neurology and did not pass the makeup exams which led to my dismissal from medical school. I am also in the appeal process of trying to get readmitted for the class this fall to repeat the second year of medical school. I realize there are no guarantees. I was advised to get a lawyer or switch professions entirely. 

I am strongly considering pursuing different careers in healthcare such as AA and PA. How badly does a dismissal from a US MD school impact my application to these other professions? I notice there are questions on the application about this matter as well as reporting of transcripts….

Depends on the reason for your failing those classes.  It will likely be looked on more favorably if there was an acute life event leading to not passing...although I would expect a LOT of questions about why you are now pursuing PA rather than reattempting MD school.

I imagine most ADCOMs aren't going to look kindly on being pursued as a backup career so be prepared to explain why you want to be a PA rather than an MD.

What if it was due to COVID? I was in a difficult financial and family situation and a family member was sick during the time i had to take these makeup exams. The family member recovered and is alive and well. 

As for why I want to become a PA, could I explain that I enjoy the lateral mobility associated with the profession while practicing medicine and the ability to get second hand expert opinions on my diagnoses. 

Please advise.