LCSW —> Psychiatric PA

I am a licensed clinical social worker and a certified drug and alcohol counselor exploring the possibility of becoming a Psychiatric Physician’s Assistant. I am nervous because 1) I’m almost 40 years old, 2) I am not very good at science, and 3) I have not been in school for over 17 years! I’m worried about how long it will take, if I will survive and pass all of my classes and required exams, and if I will get my student loans reimbursed. There is such great need for psychiatric providers and most are nurse practitioners or psychiatrists. I feel that PAs are underrepresented in the mental health field. I am very interested in becoming a Psychiatric PA by age 45, but have no idea how to accomplish this … 
“There are roughly 100,000 certified practicing PAs in the United States, with approximately 1,500 of them working in psychiatry.  Psychiatry is definitely one of the areas with the fewest PAs.” 
 “Currently, the NCCPA is urging Pas who want to join a collaborative team in psychiatric practices to obtain the Certificate of Added Qualifications (CAQ) in psychiatry, a new specialty credential that is held by about 10 percent of the certified Pas working in psychiatry.”
“The best use of PAs in psychiatric practices is for them to treat and manage the medications of patients with less-severe mental disorders, allowing physicians more time to spend on treating those with complex illnesses.”
“By using a physician ‘extender,’ psychiatrists will be able to provide more psychiatric services to their patients – benefiting the practice and, more importantly, meeting patients’ mental health care needs.

• Like 1

• 1 month later...

Hi Kimmie! Congratulations on considering the PA profession. I think you will bring SO much to the table.