Job opportunities in my area NP > PA (new grad)

Hello everyone,

I'm a new grad and has been checking the job market around my area (suburban pennsylvania in Hershey) and haven't found any great opportunities over for PA. I am up for any specialty except the ICU and CT surgery.. which is awfully seen a lot of offers for PA, unfortunately for me lol. On the flip side, my top choice is psychiatry but like many other specialties- this field is rarely available for PA and predominently for NP. Even if PA position is available, it requires psych experiences... but it's ironic that it's hard to build experiences when PA is limited in working in psych (and other specialties as well.. basically expectations too high?)?

I have done research between PA vs. NP school to try to understand their training experiences (other than them working as a RN for so many years.. but still doesn't guaranteed that their RN was in the field that they will be working as an NP... and they are more focused on holistic view I don't see their training in medicine is any more advance than PA school?) but never enough than asking about other people's knowledges and experiences working with NP or knowing any NP. So please provide your knowledge in here!

I think there is a way where I can prove or at least try my best to show to the HR or the company that PA is also capable of working in psych (and many other specialties that is limited for PA)... however, as a new grad, I'm a newbie and need help with that. So any advice of approaching with that would be very helpful!

Thanks in advance!!

Pennsylvania is a barren wasteland where most of the jobs pay horribly. (Former PA PA). Your best option is treat your first couple years like you're still in school and go elsewhere for the pay and experience, and come back when you aren't fighting 20 schools worth of new grads as a new grad. 

The old adage here is 

Location, Specialty, Pay

Pick two of them

I'm a psych NP.