Higest paid PA working today?

Hello All! I understand patient care and satisfaction is the most important part of any job within the medical field no doubt about it..

that being said, just for kicks and giggles and for those who are interested in the money aspect of the profession...

whats the highest amount of money you have personally earned working as a PA ANNUALLY? this includes those working two jobs, hey maybe even three.. or profit sharing , production bonuses etc etc?

is it true that those specialty PA's can out earn family medicine/internal medicine/general medicine docs?

thanks guys!

I worked as a "Security Contractor" with DynCorp and Triple Canopy on State Department Contracts for a couple (~2) of yrs.

Early 2005 (Feb-April) - 90 days in Iraq = $90k (contract was for $1000 every day in country )

2005 (Jun-Dec) - 160 days in Afghanistan = $128k (contract was for $800 every day in country)

2006-2007 (Apr-July) - 15 months South Sudan (Uganda, Dafur, Kenya) = (contract was for $196k/yr so I made a little bit more than this because I was there a few months over a yr)

Contrarian

• Upvote 1

I know ct surg pa's who have made 250k.

I know em pa's who have made 200k.

I know of a bariatric medicine pa and noted author who makes> 500k/yr. he owns several clinics and has written several books on getting into pa school...

the president of the Johns hopkins em group is a pa, mba. don't know what he makes but I imagine it's > 250k/yr, maybe closer to 350(?)

• 3 years later...

if money is your motivation you have a few options as mentioned above: CT surgery, overseas and alaskan contract work, or rural emergency medicine doing long shifts at low volume shops. I get 1700/day to do 24s at a rural facility where I typically see 8-12 pts/24 hrs...MANY of these folks are very sick...all of these positions are for experienced folks however, not new grads....a 12-18 month residency would be the fastest way to qualify for such positions.