Starting a new job in Urgent Care in California after 3 yrs in primary care . Any tips or suggestions appreciated

Hello Folks ,

Accepted an offer which I thought was reasonable. I have 2 1/2 yrs experience on primary care 

142 K /year , 24 hrs sick leave 

• 56 hours of Paid Time Off.
  • Company Paid Licensure for: DEA, PA Lic & DOT.
  • Mal-practice insurance coverage.
  • Medical, Dental, Vision & Life Insurance.
  • Company's 401K Plan.
  • Company Paid UpToDate Subscription towards your CMEs.

Additionally, I will also be eligible for an annual bonus up to $8,000 which will be based on your performance and practice development goals

The medical insurance will start after 90 days of employment

The questions I have is

Is it a common practice to have the medical insurance after 90 days ? 

Any suggestions or tips to prepare would be highly appreciated . I have to start on May 17th . Thank you. 

I had a job at a “walk in” clinic.  We had 3 providers, for 12 hour days, 7 days a week.  You could call in sick, but you paid a price, off the books.  And vacations were hell, because they didn’t cover you, the other two covered.  Just make sure that you actually get get those bennies.  No one plans on getting sick, but as humans, we do.

Its not unreasonable but it isn't great. The PTO seems very low. My last UC started everyone with 240 hours off.

As Cid pointed out patient volume is the single biggest issue. Last UC would not, even after years of discussions about patient safety and provider burnout, set any sort of limits on our 12 hour day. Let me promise you when you get to your 50th patient with 15 more in the lobby you are brain-dead dangerous. Do it multiple times and your safe number goes down further. It is bad for patients and puts you in professional jeopardy. My org would lose half the providers after every flu season and replace them and wouldn't change anything.