quitting after 3 months as a new grad??

Hello, I am a few months into a inpatient position in a busy surgical department. We are consistently understaffed and overworked and as a new grad I find myself alone way too much for such a niche speciality. I don't feel remotely comfortable when at work.  I like the speciality but I am almost never with the surgical attending which makes it impossible to learn anything about the speciality, we are just constantly completing miscellaneous hospital tasks.   When I initially accepted the position they made it seem as though there was a robust orientation program but due to the insane amount of work and patient volume there is no time to learn to learn. I am just dropped in the ocean to figure it out. What I like about surgery is being in the OR and I don't even get to do that. I never signed a contract and we have a 3 month mutual fit agreement and I am just about to hit 2 months. I don't think an inpatient job/ rotating schedule (have to work nights too) is for me but I really don't want it to look bad on resume. I am miserable and very unhappy with my current situation but I do not know what to do. 

Looking for some advice for this stressed out new grad... thanks!

• Administrator

If there's anything illegal or patently unsafe going on, quit immediately.

If it's not the right fit, look for other jobs; be honest with future employers about this job not being a good fit for a new grad.