Negotiating Contracts, concerned

Hi All--

I'm not a newbie PA, been practicing for 4 years have had some interesting contracts presented to me in the past and have had to walk previously, so am not afraid to do it.

Have an offer in hand for a part-time position (which is what I want) in a pain management clinic in the Mountain West. The practice is using a group called, CE Medical to do the contract and I guess negotiations, but it's not a recruiting firm, so they have no incentive that I can see to get my salary as high as possible.

Anyways, rambling sorry.

My concern is this, they are offering me 38/hour for the first four months, flat rate, but it's not hourly ,they prefer to pay me on a salaried schedule, which is fine with me. I don't love the number, from what I can tell, most pain management PAs are making 40-50 but I'm willing to live with the 38.

What I'm not thrilled about is after 4 months, it switches to a commissions only base of 35% after collections. So each 2 week pay period you get paid based on the collections of the previous month, divided in half. No base pay at all. No PTO, since I'm part time, and 1500 total for CME, DEA, and licensing per year.

I feel like I am being asked to assume all the risk, all the no-shows, bad accounts etc. I will not be doing procedures, the MDs prefer to do those, so it's only new patients and pain follow ups.

Has anyone ever heard of this at all? It feels like I'm working at a car dealership?

The main negotiator is trying to convince me that this is the new way Pain practices are doing things, to incentivize their midlevels.

I should mention that there are 3 other NPs none of whom are on this contract, I of course am not privy to what their contracts say, but I do know that it's not this commissions only based idea.

Thoughts? Anyone doing something like this?

Will also post in the Pain side, to see if anyone over there has heard of this.

TIA.

Ally

this might actually be a great deal or a bad deal....