This school is a joke

I am just about done with the entire program at Idaho state.  Unfortunately I have hardly anything positive to say about the program.  1st its super expensive, and half of all of your lectures from DY year are distant/virtual.  So if you like to spend a lot of money to teach yourself then by all means this is the place for you.  They treat you like a child.  Attendance mandatory every day, even when we went to home learning during the pandemic they required us to login and put in an emailed code to make sure we were in attendance, I had more freedom when i was a freshman in undergrad.  The advisors are garbage, they dont provide any direction or help.  

THe clinical year is not any better.  they hardly have any preceptors, no relations with any of the local hospitals so students are traveling all over the western US because the only preceptors they have are previous graduates.  Thank god i set up my rotations myself.  The professors that handle the clinical year are a joke.  They provide zero direction, I have talked to my clnical year professor 1 time in the last year- not sure where my 15K a semester is going for Clinical year.  they dont pay the preceptors, the staff doesnt do anything, and I am not utilizing any brick/mortar structure.  

pros: the staff is nice- I too would be nice though if I was collecting a paycheck for doing jack.  

So if you feel that you want to pay a lot, to be treated like a child, and teach yourself I advise you to go here, if you have other options I suggest going there.  Unfortunately we all know PA school is super competitive and thats why they can get away with acting like this.  I am also not just so disgruntled student- I am doing well in the program with a 3.6 gpa and have no fears about graduating, I just wanted to warn future prospects about making the same mistake i made. 

Edited by panamaredfish

• 4 weeks later...

Hey,