Is this career right for me?

I am a freshman in college and I have trying to figure out what I want to ever since junior year of high school. Yea I know very indecisive. But I've recently have been very interested in Physician Assistant. What's bothering me though is the whole personality thing though. I'm very introverted which does not mean shy but I'm also shy too. Really, I don't have a hard time conversing one-on-one it just when someone wants me to give a presentation or something. Also I am very bad with small talk. I'm thinking this would be very horrible for the patient aspect which is the most important. Soon I'm going to start volunteering at a hospital as a patient companion. My coordinator put me in this role and I got nervous. But I'm going to try my best to do it because I'm hoping it will help me come out of my shell. I'm also going to start taking cna classes soon. I don't want to regret going into this. But I'm also wondering if I'll be able to get over my shyness. If not I honestly don't know what other career to go to. For my Holland code it was Investigative, Social (weird I know), Conventional just if you want to know. What do you think.

I have similar anxiety issues, I think that if you try hard enough to over come it you can, and I think that if you end up really loving it you'll be so into it you won't be able to shut up! I think that maybe your CNA classes and working as one will help you a lot since you can get used to patient interaction with it being less nerve wracking. As a CNA you might have minimal interaction compared to a PA having to do your first physical exam and other things.

If your CNA work goes well, maybe try EMS? That way you'd have more interaction with the PT care aspect. (that was probably the wrong term to use)