PA-C responsibilities in a COVID vaccine clinic?

Hello! I'm a semi-new grad PA-C who has been on the job hunt in my state for the past few months. There's a local FT vaccine clinic opportunity for APPs that I'm interested in applying to, but the post doesn't have a lot of details on what the responsibilities of the PA-C would be. Other similar job openings have a range of different tasks listed, with some being as simple as just administering vaccines, while others have the PA provide necessary patient education, monitor patients, etc. I could also see the PA being utilized to help direct care should adverse reactions occur, etc., but I haven't seen it explicitly listed on any job posts I've seen.

I was wondering if anyone here has worked in a COVID vaccine clinic or knows someone who does, and could provide more insight into what you do day-to-day in your role?

Thank you for your time!

I do not have direct knowledge... but

not much responsibility medically

have EPI

know how to use it

verify it is the correct dose

be available to stabilize folks that need it till the Ambulance shows up (them medical control takes over)

Think EPI and O2

• Upvote 1

I try to stay up to date with my state / county orgs and get all their emails. Every position I have seen advertised with PAs listed has also had RN, EMT, even MA listed for the same position. It puts the needle in the skin. That said, I have heard Kaiser in VA is offering $4k/week for RNs to administer vaccines temp of course, but damn.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

• Similar Content

• By Erose