New Graduate Plastic Surgery offer - help

Guest CAdreamer

Guest CAdreamer

Hi All, 

I am a new grad who is being offered a position in a plastic surgery office. I will be meeting with the Doc and office manager soon to discuss compensation and contracts. I need help with what to look for in the contract as well as how to ask for fair compensation. I dont have experience and would have to do a few months of heavy training before I can see patients on my own. The doctor is very supportive and understands this is needed and is happy to train. Once I am well versed and ready, he also wants me to take on the position of being a liaison between him and the clinical staff. 

According to Zip recruiter, the average pay for a Physician Assistant in Plastics in California is $130,000. Is it fair to ask for this much or do I start with less since I am a new graduate? 

What other things should I be looking for/asking when it comes to the contract? 

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I have never had to do this before. 

4 hours ago, CAdreamer said:

Hi All, 

I am a new grad who is being offered a position in a plastic surgery office. I will be meeting with the Doc and office manager soon to discuss compensation and contracts. I need help with what to look for in the contract as well as how to ask for fair compensation. I dont have experience and would have to do a few months of heavy training before I can see patients on my own. The doctor is very supportive and understands this is needed and is happy to train. Once I am well versed and ready, he also wants me to take on the position of being a liaison between him and the clinical staff. 

According to Zip recruiter, the average pay for a Physician Assistant in Plastics in California is $130,000. Is it fair to ask for this much or do I start with less since I am a new graduate? 

What other things should I be looking for/asking when it comes to the contract?