Verbal Offer = Job Secured?

I recently interviewed and accepted a verbal job offer with a staffing firm for an EM job.  I am a new graduate, so still have the process of obtaining licenses, credentialing, etc, ahead of me, and know that it will be at least a few months before I have a formal start date.  During my last correspondence with the recruiter, I asked about obtaining a written contract and any contingencies about the offer that I should consider. He did not address my questions directly, but has told me they consider the position filled with my offer and thus won’t be considering other applicants. I know they are contacting my references and a formal salary negotiation will take place at a later date. While I very much feel it is a great position, due to my unfamiliarity with how staffing agencies/ED hiring processes are conducted, I am unsure if should I still be applying to other jobs/making plan “B” preparations. At what point should I feel sure I have truly landed the job? Thanks for the insight.

They likely have other candidates in consideration until a written offer is presented and signed. Verbal offer means squat, especially through a third party, and prior to a salary negotiation. A lot of ERs are staffed through ER staffing groups such as a locums companies, EmCare, TeamHealth, etc. This may likely lead to a job but I would have at least a plan B and C. If this plan A works out, you can gracefully withdraw consideration from B and C with no hard feelings.

Edited by wookie

Ok

so they “said they want you”. “Through a recruiter”

no you do not have a job.  You can politely ask them fir a contract so that you can stop your job search.  Do not feel bad about this.  Be polite and professional.   But until you have a contract and ALL things negotiated, and work first day, you do nit have a job.   

their used to be a little honor in the staffing world.   COVID took even that little bit away.  

protect yourself. Have atty review all contracts.