PA vs NP Question

Since beginning college I have always been the pre-PA route. I am starting to have some concerns as I did not get into my first cycle of PA school and am concerned that my application is not competitive enough. I graduated with a 3.5 GPA and a 3.3 science GPA (not excellent). I took o-chem after graduation and got a B- and retook anatomy and physiology and received A's. I have 700 hours working as a CNA and have over 1,000 hours working in my current job as a medical scribe in the emergency room. I also have over 100 hours shadowing a PA in a family practice and spent a shift shadowing an OGBYN PA. As for volunteer work goes I have spent about 30 hours volunteering in a children's hospital and am currently trying to volunteer at a women's shelter but it has been difficult with COVID. I work with both PA's and NP's and love both professions but am concerned about not getting into PA school due to my GPA. I am trying to be realistic and am debating if I should attend an accelerated nursing program with a direct entry into the DNP program. I know this would take longer essentially but I would be happy to work as a nurse while I'm getting my NP credentials and I know from my prior experience working as a CNA that I love direct hands on patient care and am not afraid of hygiene or anything like that. I am trying to be practical and chose the best path for me but also the most realistic one. I know I would be happy with both but am in need of some advise from people who may be going through similar or PA's/NP's themselves.