Survival Tips for a Less-Than-Ideal First Job

Hi, everybody. I am a long-time lurker here, but this is my first time posting outside of the Physician Assistant Schools boards. I apologize ahead of time if my post is a bit of a mess...I have had a rough morning and am still trying to recover.

I graduated from my PA program in May of this year. After months and months and looking and applying for jobs, I finally found one at a local urgent care. I was apprehensive at first because I never truly wanted to work in urgent care, but it was the only job for which I received an offer. I have now worked there for a little over a month. My "orientation" for the most part has been a disorganized mess, with me being passed around from preceptor to preceptor and never quite knowing what their expectations for me were. This morning I received a text from my preceptor that there were some things that "needed to change" and that she needed to discuss with me; a little while later I found myself on a call with her and HR. She stated that she had concerns about my initiative and eagerness to see patients. Despite repeatedly telling my preceptors that I am a new graduate with fears about the level of independence that this company is expecting me to have, I feel as if nobody is listening or respecting me enough to take me seriously. My mental health is severely suffering as a result of all of this, and I am extremely worried about my ability to do this job well and care for my patients.

Again, I am sorry for the lack of detail in my post. I can provide examples of things that have happened if anybody would like me to. It's just incredibly difficult for me to put my thoughts together right now, and I am really just searching for advice on how to handle and hopefully keep this job. Any words of wisdom that you all may have would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

so

welcome to medicine

welcome to corporate medicine

welcome to urgent care