The number of jobs on Indeed specifying just NP's with no mention of PA's are now 2:1 and growing...

Several point out ONLY NP's will be considered....

Such a massive change since I graduated.  I just grieve for new PA's.  How long before PA schools start closing like over-saturated law schools?

I don't know why I keep pointing these things out, but sometimes it's like I'm standing in the middle of a house that's on fire screaming for everyone to get out and no one will wake up from their beds...

Edited by Cideous

14 hours ago, kang1208 said:

Here’s what I see:

Jobs that list both PA/NPs- plenty 

Jobs that list NPs only- uptrending

Jobs that list PAs only- none/rarely

And tell me why folks would still want to go for PA as opposed to NP? 

Speaking from the perspective of someone who’s choosing the NP route over the PA route, despite coming from a profession that was originally one of the core student groups of PA programs - I don’t know why folks choose PA in 2020.

When I looked at the big picture, I couldn’t see a single justification to choose PA school.  From the pre-reqs which are identical to med school requirements, to the 2.5 years of full time hell while in the program, to coming out on the other side and AT BEST competing for the same jobs/pay.. it’s just a no brainer to me. 

Edited by FiremedicMike
  • Upvote 2

4 hours ago, FiremedicMike said:

When I looked at the big picture, I couldn’t see a single justification to choose PA school.  From the pre-reqs which are identical to med school requirements, to the 2.5 years of full time hell while in the program, to coming out on the other side and AT BEST competing for the same jobs/pay.. it’s just a no brainer to me.