Physician Assistant Post-Graduate Residency in Geriatric Medicine @ Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center - Houston, Texas

Hey Y'all,

I'm currently a  PA-S2 doing my clinicals in the Lubbock/Plainview, TX area. I am a veteran and would really like to work at the VA for some time after graduation. Growing up, my family ran multiple assisted living facilities and skilled nursing facilities so I was around the geriatric population frequently, I genuinely do enjoy working with the elderly (especially Veterans [so many awesome stories])   which makes me really interested in this Residency.

I wanted to see if anyone has attended this residency and has any information on what its like to go through this training. Any info helps!

Program Website: https://www.houston.va.gov/Education/Physician_Assistant_Residency_Geriatric_Medicine/Physician_Assistant_Residency_Geriatric_Medicine.asp

Program Brochure: https://www.houston.va.gov/Education/Physician_Assistant_Residency_Geriatric_Medicine/PAResidencyInGeriatricsBrochure2019.pdf

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...
  • 4 weeks later...
  • 1 year later...

What was the interview and selection process like? 

Tell us about a typical day in the residency.

What is the likelihood that you could get hired on at the VA following the residency?

Do you know about any of the PAs that completed the program before you? What specialties did they find work in immediately after the program?

What are your favorite and least favorite parts of the residency?

What are some things you wish you'd known about the program before you started?

On 5/21/2022 at 10:50 AM, virtuous woman said:

What was the interview and selection process like? 

Tell us about a typical day in the residency.

What is the likelihood that you could get hired on at the VA following the residency?

Do you know about any of the PAs that completed the program before you? What specialties did they find work in immediately after the program?