Hi everyone!

I wanted to ask the full time 1099 workers in California here some questions:

1. Where did you get your health insurance? I called the AAPA recommended place and they are saying I could only get Covered California. Is that true? Or can I just shop commercial insurances like Aetna? Any recommendations?

2. How did you find your life and disability insurance? Any recommendations on where to shop without being taken advantage of? I had a couple of financial advisors try to rope me into plans before so I am little wary of asking them for advice.

3. I know I am responsible for:  state license, NCCPA, CME funding, DEA, possibly liability coverage, retirement, health insurance, long term and short term disability, and life insurance. Are there any other hidden expenses I am missing?

4. Overall, do you enjoy being a 1099 vs a W2? Any regrets/cons?

Thank you for your time and answers in advanced! I appreciate your insight! I have never done 1099 before and am considering it for a couple of positions and leaving my W2 position. It feels more "scary" because a lot of my friends are telling me being a 1099 employee is a mistake. However, none of them have ever been 1099 and are all W2 so I don't feel like that's a fair pool to pull from.

I hope you are all doing well and staying safe and having a wonderful week!

• Upvote 1

• Administrator

1. Don't want or need health insurance.  I use a faith-based medical cost sharing ministry instead, which is a fraction of the cost of insurance.

2. Select Quote for Life insurance, Unum I kept from a previous job for disability insurance. I'm paying $600 and $200/year, respectively.

3. Um, both halves of your social security payroll taxes?

4. I LOVE being a part time W-2 AND a part-time 1099, because any relevant expenses I can take off my 1099 income essentially become pre-tax.  I essentially set my own CME budget.

• Upvote 2

I'm not in California, but...

1. https://www.healthcare.gov/