Not getting a job

I am posting here to get a different perspective and possibly some advice.

I graduated in 2018. I live in metro Detroit area. I started to apply around the time of completion/boards. I applied to almost all specialties except surgery and psych. I have a family, so I applied only within 25 to 30 miles of where I live. I got a few interviews. By the time I started my first job it was 10 months after passing boards. It was not fulfilling as I felt like I was only helping the doc out and there was no room for professional growth or learning. No training was provided. But I was grateful to be able to even have this job and used this opportunity to get used to EMR, be more efficient seeing/rounding on pts and and writing notes etc. I continued to search for jobs while working the part time job. Still same story...I did not get anywhere.

Fast forward to March 2020, I am 8 months into my first job and I get laid off. Since then, I am back to the same situation of not being able to land a job. Most places seem to ask for experience in that particular field. ( I got told by one of the major hospital systems here to come back after gaining 1 to 2 years experience in the field I applied.) I dont know where I can get this experience if no one seems to want to take a newbie.

I think my interview skills are fine. I got my resume checked by my school. I have been networking and trying to reach out to as many people I know. I am not sure what I am doing wrong or if I am missing something. Do you guys have any advice for me?

My last thing I thought of doing is handing out hard copy of my resume by personally going to offices. But I don't know if that would be considered an appropriate way.

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk