newly accepted, class schedule, difficulty, time spent outside of class

Hey guys I am a newly accepted student into the MSPA program at western university.

I just had a few questions for current students or recent alumni of the program.

1. whats your class schedule like? is it monday - friday 8 to 5pm?

2. how is your study schedule your first year? is it really true that you will be studying all day and all night and all weekend with no time to play/relax/see family/have a life?

3. with the hectic first year schedule are you guys actually able to participate in student groups, student government etc etc?

4. any general advice for newly incoming students?

5. how were your professors in the program? some better then others? any favorites?

6. what was your most difficult class? which class did you enjoy the most?

thank you in advance and have a great day!

Hey. I am currently a 1st year...well almost second year. Haha. Thought I would help answer some of your questions.

Class schedule varies a bit but usually Monday you are there 8-5 but not always as labs are sometimes split into smaller groups. Tuesday 10-3, Wednesday 10-2:30, Thursday 1-3 and 5:30-7:30, and Friday 10-12 for the Fall Semester.

Yes it is really true that you will be studying all day and all night and all weekend and won't see your family and friends. Unfortunately this really isn't an exaggeration especially for the first 5 or so months. I maybe had one day off a month. It's called Red October for a reason. Spring lightens up a bit as you get the hang out it. Summer is more time in the classroom and a little less studying.

You can participate in groups and government but you will have minimal time to devout to them.

My only advice is to take time off and enjoy time with family and friends. There is nothing I can really say to prepare you for next year.

The professors are pretty awesome and available outside of class.