pay rate dilemma

so the place where i work has been trying to get another pa/np for the position opposite me (working the nights i don't). I always am searching for new jobs on the internet and saw the ad posted, except the pay rate range was several dollars more per hour than what i was hired at. I was a new grad when they hired me and the ad included "new grads welcome." I've been at this place for only 7 months.

So long story short I raised this issue with them demanding the minimal amount I saw in the ad and they said they messed up and put in the per diem rate. What do you all think of this? The HR rep wouldnt budge at all from her stance and I just began to talk in circles with her and gave up. She said I would just have to have "good faith" that it was an honest misprint. Should I have held them to it? She tried comforting me saying I was due for an annual pay raise but that's not the issue so I could care less. Such BS, why can't HR people be easy to negotiate with?

• Administrator

Leave. They screwed up, so they can pay for their screwup one of two ways:

1) They can give you the starting salary they're offering to new grads, or

2) They can replace you at the starting salary they're offering to new grads.

"Several dollars more per hour" does not cover benefits, unless by "several", you're talking $10-15/hour. HR is there to save the company money, and yes, if they can keep you ignorant of the true value of your labor and pay you less and keep you happy, the company wins. HR people are not there to help individual employees, nor are they legally prevented from lying in the course of their job.

Naaaahh...

Its more of a contractual and integrity/maturity issue.

YOU agreed to work for a certain amount. They pay you what YOU agreed to work for. WE don't see what the problem is.