Would a PA School Except Someone Like Me?

Hi guys,

First time poster but I have a question regarding PA School. I am currently in my last semester of my bachelors degree at the University of Michigan. I am a non-traditional student who, after coming out of high school decided to work instead of go to school. One of my first few jobs was as a patient transporter in a hospital. I was lucky enough to move up to floor and worked as a CNA for 4 years in an ICU. I enjoyed the job but there were things about it I disliked.I loved the patient interaction and helping with procedures but disliked the hospital atmosphere in general.  I also felt I wasn't paid very well for the level of work I was doing. In the end I decided to go to school at 25 still unsure with what I wanted to do with my life.

I am now 28, and in my last semester with a General Studies degree. I've come to realize that of all of the jobs and experiences that I've had up until this point one career that I really found fascinating was the PA who worked in my hospital. I worked nights so I would often work side by side with her during the shift and she would tell me all of the things she disliked and liked about the job. Thinking back now I think I would really enjoy the career and am considering pursuing it. My issue is I am now in my last semester at the University. I haven't taken very many science classes here except for the intro courses. I transferred from community college and did take A and P and Micro which I did very well in.