Applying in 2012?

Hi everybody! I thought I would start a thread to see if anyone browsing the forum was applying to the Towson-Essex program for the June 2013 start date. Maybe we can share our experiences as they happen!

A little about me - my name is Katie, I'm 27, and I live here in MD. I was a middle school science teacher (biology major in undergrad) for 5 years before deciding to pursue admission to physician assistant school. I've spent the last year volunteering, working, and finishing pre-requisites. This is my first time applying. I'm really excited!

My CASPA application was mailed on June 23rd. I got an email from the program on June 26th stating that they had received the application. So far, so good!

So -- anyone else applying this year?

:)

• Replies 147
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Katie!

My application was mailed today! (Slightly later than I would of liked, but, that's how things go sometimes). I'm 26 and live up in Cecil, working for Upper Chesapeake Health in a physician's office and the Blood Bank of Delmarva as a Medical Technologist.

I was Pre-Vet in undergrad, but decided to do Medical Technology for personal and financial reasons (mostly due to my mom's state of health) before considering full-time graduate school. While working at the University of Virginia I participated in a remote area medical clinic, and loved every second of it, becoming enthusiastic and motivated to work in underserved areas in a greater capacity.

I took a year and a half or so to get some 'human' pre-reqs out of the way and take my GREs. This is my first time applying. I have a lot of animal medicine experience out on the field from undergrad and most of my people contact is with geriatric phlebotomy. I'm trying to be optimistic, but the ratio of applicants to seats is a little detering.