Moving for PA school

2 minutes ago, mm1767 said:

Hi everyone! 

I'm moving out of state for PA school and am super excited for my new adventure! I'm a little concerned about my potential experience, moving to a new city where I virtually know no one. Any advice/tips/experiences would be appreciated! 

I'm a traveling nurse and live in a new city every 3 months. I love the adventures! Just mainly need to have an open mind and just be safe in a new area. I personally wasn't outgoing and it was hard to make friends...so I basically traveled around on my own for 18 months without making many friends. Now over the last year I have opened up more and it has been great.

I bet you love it! Hopefully!

• Upvote 1

As a soon-to-be grandfather, I probably felt more concerns than many new PA students. I left my wife and three grown kids behind and moved to a city where I knew no one. And all so that I could go to school with students who were younger than my two oldest children. 

I arrived about a week before PA school started and would be living in an apartment by myself. I spent most of that week either doing assignments the program had sent me (readings, quizzes, etc), talking to my wife on the phone, or fixing up my apartment. The latter involved going to the grocery store to buy one of everything (gotta have a pizza cutter!), making multiple trips to Walmart, and waiting on the cable guy. I went out for some meals and met a few of the friendly locals who worked there. People who wanted to know why I was there. After I told them, they wondered even more.