Extra certifications??

I’m a new PA graduate looking to get a job in either urgent care or emergency medicine and I’m really struggling to find anything. I figured while I’m waiting for a job, it might be a good idea to get PALS and ATLS training because I’ve seen those certifications as either required or recommended on a few job requirements. However after doing some searching online, it looks like ATLS isn’t even required for EM docs?? Obviously any extra education is beneficial, but do you think those certifications will actually help boost my resume? I honestly just don’t want to waste the money if it won’t actually help me get a job. Any UC/EM PAs on here who were required to get those certifications?

When I worked in Washington State, ATLS was required for EM positions. I'm not sure if it was mandatory at the state-level, or if it was just that particular employer (they actually required it for UC positions, too, but only because I think they lumped the requirements together). Certainly having PALS and ATLS won't hurt, and if your aim is to move into EM you should think of them as sort of baseline certifications.

1 hour ago, HMtoPA said:

When I worked in Washington State, ATLS was required for EM positions. I'm not sure if it was mandatory at the state-level, or if it was just that particular employer (they actually required it for UC positions, too, but only because I think they lumped the requirements together). Certainly having PALS and ATLS won't hurt, and if your aim is to move into EM you should think of them as sort of baseline certifications.

Really? Weird. Must have been system specific, haven't heard of that in the 3+ organizations I'm familiar with.

Agree though. The alphabet soup perks up the resume. ATLS though...that's some $$$

• Upvote 1