Single Payer Inquiry

I am an Emory Physician Assistant Student and a member of Students for a National Health Program campaign. As a future healthcare professional, I am concerned about the health disparities in our country and advocating for a single health care system. I am asking questions to gain a perspective of current PAs who have experienced the challenges of working in the field.

How would a single payer healthcare system would impact our profession?

How would it impact our care that we provide to our patients?

Any insight would be helpful. 

Thank you.

7 hours ago, GetMeOuttaThisMess said:

How would you pay for it, realistically? I’m not sure that you can fully appreciate how messed up things are till you’ve actually experienced it from a provider perspective. Most insulated field for PA’s I would think is either EM or a cash only setting (cosmetic surgery, etc.).

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You’d pay for it the same way every Western country pays for it 

The organization I am with is using a model for Medicare for All for a single payer system. I am curious what the thoughts were of providers in the field would think it would impact them, positive or negative? I worked in the VA system prior to PA school and that is a similar type of system and it had its advantages and disadvantages. Overall, I found it a better place to work in providing care in that system versus public healthcare systems. Just wanted to see peoples' perspectives. 

Thank you. 

15 hours ago, iconic said:

You’d pay for it the same way every Western country pays for it