PA school admission

Hello all,

I know there is a pre-PA section on this thread but I felt that this would be a better place to ask this question.

I would appreciate any advice from those who has experience in school admissions. 

I am a practicing pharmacist who wants to become a PA. Just finished CASPA and was verified. The school I want to apply to states that applicants must achieve minimum of 3.0 overall gpa based on CASPA. My overall CASPA gpa turned out to be 2.9. I think this is because they are including all my classes such as a bunch of retakes in undergrad and pharmacy school classes (Most people in pharmacy school didn't care about grades since we just needed to pass unless you were a gunner. Had I known that my pharmacy school gpa will affect my life later on, I would've totally tried harder to get better grades haha). My grad school gpa (I have a MS in neuroscience) is 3.5, post-bacc, which include most of pre-reqs for PA school, gpa is 4.0. Based on this info, will the school even look at my application? 

The reason I applied to one school is because I already have a family and do not wish to leave where I live. I am debating if I need to be applying to other schools before it is too late. Thank you in advance. 

My best guess....if 3.0 is the minimum gpa needed then your application will be weeded out for not meeting the minimum.  I would reach directly out to the program director.  If nothing more, it could at least get your name on his/her desk to perhaps look at your application.  I would guess they couldn't consider you regardless or it would go against their published admission criteria.  Unless maybe they have a clause where the program director can make exceptions.  I would apply to more then one program.  Back in my day I applied to 2 programs.  Nowadays, students apply to like 10-20 schools in hopes to just get into one.

2 hours ago, DizzyJ said: