Unique situation, need advice

Hello everyone,

I have been playing professional baseball since 2014. Due to covid, there is a chance my career could be cut short due to contracts (long un-needed story). I was a student athlete in college until I was drafted after my junior year in 2014. There are definitely more difficult situations out there, but being a student athlete at my school meant I had 2-3 hours to study per day starting at 8-9pm and we lifted at 5am every day. Finishing my degree in minor league baseball was just as tough. 12 hour bus rides twice a week, hotels, 10 hour days at the field, and playing for 6 months with only 2 days off a month. Not trying to make excuses, it was just tough for me.

I still need to take organic chemistry, but my cGPA is 3.3 and my sGPA is 3.2. I have not taken the GRE and I have about 80 documented hours of shadowing, with over 300 undocumented hours.

Until it is certain my career has ended, what can I do to stay fresh on all my sciences? Have I missed anything to apply for PA school? Do I have a chance of getting in to school? A friend of mine is a physician and said medical/PA schools love unique stories and backgrounds. Even with my story, I want everything else to show I have a passion for medicine and I’m willing to bust my butt in school when I can strictly focus on school.

Thank y’all in advance for any honest feedback!

You didn’t mention if you have any PCE hours. Most programs require these hours prior to applying, but there are some that don’t require any PCE. So you’ll want to make sure you apply to the programs you qualify for.

Do you have any volunteer hours? This is also a common attribute of applicants. Many people also have research hours too.

Your GPA is on the lower side for most school averages I would guess, but that doesn’t necessarily mean you’re not a good applicant. You can read several posts of people getting in with lower GPAs.