All,

Has anyone experienced being undermined as a PA? I have been a Cardiothoracic surgical PA for 2 years now. And in this new hospital I work at, PAs are not represented much. I believe most of that’s because management is not familiar with what PAs can do, how they can bill, their autonomy, etc. Due to this, their structure has always been having NPs on the floor to round on the post op patients, and RNFAs (nurse first assists) in the OR. The surgeons don’t get involved as much because they‘ve compartmentalized the two groups, and have a head NP and head RNFA who leads their counterparts. 

But since I’ve joined, and my credentials give me the ability and knowledge to do both parts of the job, I’ve been dealing with a lot of power trips and a lot of them seem to be threatened. And I can’t seem to find a median between being respectful and being assertive. (Especially since I’m still fairly new in my career) I want to work here but I don’t want this to be the issue why I can’t enjoy my job. Thoughts? 

I started my career in an academic center advanced heart failure/transplants/CCU position. I was the only PA there for years, they had never worked with a PA, and in all of cardiology there was ONE other guy, who did amazing stuff in EP and had been there for forever. This is an academic hospital with an extremely well known and established PA program.

It took me quite a while to establish myself, but I did so by demonstrating my knowledge and effectively crushing everyone else there, while at the same time being helpful, educating others and being the absolute best provider I could.

The lack of knowledge NPs have regarding our profession is ridiculous. They receive little to no information regarding our training, regulations, background etc.

It's going to be a slog but assert yourself, be the smartest person there, and work to the top of your license. CTS is where PAs can truly shine.

• Like 2

24 minutes ago, Chasingdreams said:

All,