Hello!

My name is Drew Greene and I am a 24 year old physician assistant student that will be graduating from PA school in August of this year. Ever since I have been interested in medicine I wanted to go into womens health. As a PA, I believe I will be able to give back to the female community through women's health services, however, may not be able to be involved in the birth experience as much as I would like with living in a bigger city (Austin, TX). So, I realized that I would love to possibly become a doula on the side to give my patients an option for me to be present during birth, as well as doing something I love on my own. I also could do this as a side job, in case I don't get a women's health job right out of school. I inevitably just want to be involved in labor in some way/shape/or form. Has anyone been a PA and doula? Insight on this idea?

Any information is greatly appreciated!

• Administrator

Doulas are not paid like PAs are.  So, to take a different job like that you would not only NOT be making overtime, you'd be paid at a significantly lower hourly rate.  The training would undoubtedly be awesome for communicating with women in labor, but I'm not sure how much it would help you get your foot in the door in a women's health PA role.

I would counsel ANY new grad to get out of debt ASAP.  Then, you have the freedom to take a lower-paying PA job with more ability practice the way you want. Once you have Malcolm Gladwell's magical 10,000 hours of PA work underneath your belt, you would not believe how many doors begin to open.

My thought was that I could use it in practice (as a women's health PA), or on the side (if i don't end up getting a women's health job right off the bat.) I would not be doing it full time by any means. I also think it may look good on a resume for women's health positions, correct? 

I also do not have much debt, I was lucky to have family help. 

40 minutes ago, takemetoPAschool said: