Critical care job

Hello everyone, 

I am a new grad and have an offer in ICU which I am considering but slightly hesitant. The offer is 110,000 salary based, 7 on 7 off nights  no vacation days but you can trade/give away to others working there. they will pay for all licensing, 1000 for CME, and I have to get my own malpractice insurance but they will reimburse after 6 months. Is this considered a good ofter? 

Edited by Pm1994
edit

I work In critical care also. Doing 3 12’s a week. Which works out to about 300 less hours per year, than the 7 on 7 off schedule you would be doing. I started out making about that same as you would be starting. I do have 7 weeks PTO though, plus health and malpractice insurance covered, and 401k with match up to 8%. All in all I don’t think that is a very good offer for you.

• Upvote 1

1 hour ago, Pm1994 said:

even though they said they will reimburse the malpractice? 

From what I was told ICU doesnt really get vacation time so I thought that was considered normal. 

Thank you so much for your input! 

Even though it’s reimbursed. What if they decide it doesn’t work out? Who is left without a job and covering a huge malpractice bill.

this is not typical of crit care or any other job with a 7 on 7 off schedule. Dude, I work 72 hour shift every other weekend, but I get 3 weeks vacation. I could take a whole month off if I wanted. 

terrible offer. 

Thank you everyone for all your inputs! I ended up declining their offer as they were not going to negotiate on any part of the contract with me. I got another offer in primary care with a provider who really likes to train, is offering me the same salary,  with 3 weeks PTO, 1500$ CME, and the rest of the benefits package! 

• Like 1
  • Upvote 2

• 3 weeks later...