Hi, I am a third year pa student & graduate in May 2020 (3 more months!) I just got my first job offer, which also happens to be my dream job, and I’m very excited about it. I want to share the good news with family and friends on social media, but I want to do it tastefully and with proper etiquette. What is safe/not safe to say publicly? 

Definitely savvy to wait until the contract is signed and sealed for an en masse announcement.

I shared news of my first job offer with close friends before everything was set in stone, but i honestly dont understand the purpose of sharing it on social media. I don't know if I'd advise making a formal job announcement on social media as a general practice. Your close friends will know, but having it out there might give you some additional feelings of pressure, and just taking the boards and adjusting to the new job bring pressure enough. I would worry about feeling pitted in the decision because I announced it on social media.

True life example... i thought my new grad job offer was absolutely perfect and dreamy. 2 weeks in a started to notice discrepancies and have some concerns regarding the length of my training/onboarding being inappropriately brief. To the point i was coming home every night l, making lists of next steps, applying for other jobs, even willing to walk away from a pretty significant sign-on bonus. If i had the pressure of people on social media constantly hounding me, "hows that new, PERFECT job going?" I would feel guilty and it would add a whole new level of rationalization to the already complex and nuanced decision-making process.

Don't put all your eggs in one basket.... that's just my two cents.

• Like 1
  • Upvote 5

Wait till you get the job then, here's a novel idea, call your family. They would probably love to hear your voice.. Or tell them at graduation in person!