Military Reservist Duties and Applying for Residency/Fellowship

I am a reservist about to graduate PA school and have asked several residency/fellowship programs about their thoughts in regards to my military obligation and fulfilling the requirements for their programs. This has, up until now, always been met with an enthusiastic response something like, "We would certainly welcome a member of the military and be happy to work around those obligations." I am unsure if this is generally a response by people who are aware of the Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA) and attempting to sidestep any complaint, but would like to think it has always been sincere.

The reason I've asked up front (I do know that legally I have no obligation to disclose my military responsibilities when applying for initial employment) is that I just wanted an idea of an organization's attitude toward having this extra burden. The following is an e-mail exchange between myself and a program director of a fellowship/residency:

ME:

"Good morning, I am a PA student currently in my clinical year, soon to graduate in June. I am interested in applying for your fellowship this upcoming cycle...
... Lastly, my situation is that I am an Army Reservist who would also have that responsibility even while in a fellowship. Would your program allow my participation in my reservist weekend duties typically once per month if I were to be accepted?"
RESPONSE:
"Hi Adam, 

Thank you for your interest in our program. Unfortunately, given the nature of this Fellowship program, we cannot accommodate for missing any weekends. The Fellow has a call shift every Sunday when on Trauma call, and the call schedules when off-service are at the discretion of the service. 
I am sorry! Happy to still put you on our mailing list if your duties ever change in the future.

Best of luck with your endeavors!"