legal question

Hello all, 

I am a new grad in family practice (which is probably why I am in this situation) and have a legal question. 

I recently saw a new patient (about a month ago) Who came in for some foot pain which I diagnosed as plantar fasciitis, and a cough that was only brought on by cleaning sprays used at his work. He works for a federal agency, and stated that this started when he was assigned to a new area where they spray frequently for cleaning and that he would have coughing fits while coworker sprayed, and then it would stop. No SOB, CP, palpitations, and he denied any coughing when not exposed to sprays or outside, at home etc. I explained that he should refrain from being exposed to these chemicals as it was obvious he was sensitive to them. In my after visit summary I made a statement that the patient should refrain from being exposed to certain cleaning sprays in which he is sensitive to. He asked that I delete all the other stuff (vitals, weight, other diagnoses) so that he could show his employer, which I did (and probably shouldn't have) 

Well he came back today, with a pile of paperwork from agency stating that they want me to sign off of all of it for approval, etc. They even put my suggestion in quotes. I told him that I would not sign off on a complete evaluation, and that my original suggestion was exactly that, a suggestion that he refrains from being around the sprays that they use.

I am curious if anybody things this could backfire on me? Ask any questions if needed. 

Thank you. 

I definitely did not redact anything in my  actual notes, just took off information on the after visit summary since each provider can have different things on their summary. My thought process was that if he refrained from said chemicals and it resolved his coughing fits, then it wouldn't warrant a full workup, but if it still persisted then we would obviously want to perform CXR, PFTs, etc. 

3 minutes ago, Rapidsound8888 said: