Sign in to follow this  

Inpatient Hours / Schedule

Hi- I currently work as a Hospitalist PA at an academic medical center. Wondering what schedule other PAs have for Hospital Medicine PAs. The two most common schedules that I have discovered include:

1) 7 on, 7 off

2) 12 or 13 12 hour shifts/month

Any other models? What are your PTO benefits? Thanks!

We do the second option you listed, although we have a very large group (~50) and some of us do 7/7 by choice.

PTO is based on years with the hospital, but for most of us is 10.15 hours per 2-week pay period. They call it “33 days” but that’s 8 hour days. So it’s really 22 days of our 12 hour shifts.

Were you asking about other bennies or just PTO?

When I did inpatient, my schedule was a rotation of 3 12's week one and 4 12's week 2.  The docs did 7 on/7 off.  

Don't remember the benefits as it has been a few years.  

When I was working inpatient I worked 3 13hrs shifts per week with the option to pick up extra shifts. Loved my schedule with exception of my required night shifts. 

Another option I have heard for hospitalists at academic medical centers is 5 on (mon-friday), 2 off (sat and sun) and then 7 on and 7 off. You work every third weekend but on the weekends you work you pick up your partners list.

I'm CCM and we do 6x12s and 1x8 (that is always a 12) each 2 week pay period.  The hospitalist APPs do 4x10s.  We get 26x8 hour shifts, or 17x12 hour shifts of PTO each year.  

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

• Similar Content

• By Bears24