Question; Sorry if it's been asked a million times before

Hey

So I am new to the forum, but I have been looking around..

I understand that there are patient-care/clinical hours required for PA schools.

I am a pharmacy technician now, and after searching around, I noticed that it does not count towards the hours.

I am in my second year of school, and will be transferring to George Washington (majoring in Pharmacogenomics) this Fall 2012.

I have a friend that is also going into PA school, and she volunteers as an EMT but that is just too scary for me. (After all the crazy stories she's told me).

So I wanted to ask, the PA students that have been accepted, the ones that did not have a different profession previously, what did you do to get the hours?

I am truly sorry if this question has been asked a million times before so please don't bash me! :sweat:

Thank you!

Haha why are you scared of EMT'ing? It's just an unknown territory for you, but it's not scary! It's actually A LOT OF FUN! If you want to get clinical experience, then volunteering as an EMT is the fastest AND the funnest way to do it. If you care about my story, taking EMT class and then volunteering was the thing that opened up MANY doors, all of which lead to acceptance to PA school. Now I am sad to be leaving the EMS world. So, do not be scared!!!

I live near DC, so if you want info on EMT classes and fire and rescue departments in the suburbs, shoot me a message!

Having said that, some schools DO count your type of experience. Some schools do not require any experience at all!.