Gaining paramedic certification

39 minutes ago, dphy83 said:

As a PA, if I were to go through the process of gaining paramedic certification would any of the requirements be waived (or able to be tested out of)? I have no prior EMS experience, only EM experience as a PA.

easiest way to do it is through the ems dept at creighton university in nebraska. you can do their quickie emt cert then do their 2 week emt-p cert if you can convince them your current experience is relevant.

this course is open to nurses, docs, and empas:

https://ems.creighton.edu/programs/ems-certificates/paramedic-certification-health-care-providers

• Like 1

12 hours ago, MediMike said:

I've been teaching at a local paramedic program for the last several years (guest lecturing, labs etc.), had my medic cert lapse when I went into PA school due to needing tubes...only thing preventing me from challenging the NR is a mild terror that I'll fail the checklist practical and look like an idiot.

I proctor the NREMT practical and it is very simple. You can pull up a few youtube videos of each station and you'll more than likely feel comfortable taking it. To be honest if I were you I would worry more about the actual exam, it is not easy no matter what your training. You could probably find an NREMT exam prep course and that would help a lot. 

What do you intend to with your paramedic certification?  EMS or pre-hospital medicine has 2 major roles: 911 response and interfacility transports.  The latter is not all that different from EM - though probably closer to nursing that what a PA does.  911 response is about entering an uncontrolled and undifferentiated situation and making some sense out of it.  That's a "slightly" different mindset and skill set that in-hospital EM.  No doubts you could learn it, but it would take experience.

• Like 1

6 hours ago, johncfl said: