Is it worth the risk to boost my science GPA like this?

Hey guys! 

So I just calculated my current science GPA, which is 3.03. I graduated in 2016 with a 2.3 science GPA and have been working my tail off the past few years to bring up my science GPA and get HCE. I retook all my science classes, got A's in every single one, took majority of prerequisites, and exhausted through majority of the biology classes at my local community college (the only classes I havent taken are classes like Zoology or Plant Botany). 

I'm happy to say I'm now at a point where I at the very least meet the minimum science GPA requirement for most programs. Just barely made it I know. But I was considering taking UNE's Biochemistry and Pathophysiology online (4 credits each) which could end up boosting my GPA to 3.11 if I get As. 

But I'm also scared because I can't make anything below a B- for these classes. If I do my science GPA will get knocked down to below a 3.0 again and I'll no longer meet the minimum science GPA.

What do you guys think? Is it worth the risk to get that 3.11 or should I just stay at my 3.03 and be "safe" to apply? If I don't take UNE's courses I'll also be saving $3k which is tempting lol.

Sorry if this is a dumb question. I know I have to make my own decision at the end of the day but I'd like second opinions too. Thanks in advance guys!

Edited by ptokki
  • Upvote 1

On 1/21/2020 at 4:57 PM, johncfl said:

You could always do something like take an EMT course at your local cc. They are usually between 8-12 credits and it is calculated by CASPA into your science GPA. This would not only boost your science GPA but it would give you a certification and EMT is probably less rigourous comapred to patho and biochem.