Hi all! I have a question for anyone out there that may have experience with this personally or know a PA that has gone through something like this. I was convicted of felony DUI Oct 2018. I have been sober since then and am doing really well in that regard. My conviction is still under review with the board in CA. I had to do 2 months jail time and I am on 5 years probation. I have been attending AA regularly and keep record of it all. My attorney says I have a good chance at probation for my license as opposed to suspension or revocation. Anyone have experience with this type of situation? I have been practicing for 8 years and have excellent letters of recommendation from previous employer. I moved to GA and am hoping to apply for my license here once CA has decided what they will do. ANY input would be helpful! Thank you!

• Administrator

Get a lawyer.  You will probably have to enroll in some sort of substance use disorder monitoring program at the very minimum.  If you can truthfully say you haven't ever practiced in a way that risked hurting patients, I think you're going to be better off, but that's really up to the board in GA.

• Like 1

ca law felonies show up within 7 years after 7 years it won’t show up as a felony on the ca background check 

after some time if its reduced to a misdemeanor itll be up to employer but you still gotta disclose it 

after your probation is done you might qualify to expunge 

medicare might not allow you to prescribe for a a year depending on the terms 

i do know a couple ca lawyers that could consult for you for free - their labor is costly 

just reread your post sorry i dont know GA policy was too eager to offer help feel free to message me if you want the CA lawyers info

• Upvote 1