2 yrs of family med and feeling totally burnt out and afraid I’ll always be overworked

I’m a relatively new PA. I graduated a little over 2 yrs ago and I have been working in family med for about that long. I get 30 min per patent which I know is quite generous compared to a lot of places. A large percentage of my patients are 50 + and I hardly ever see children. I am always behind. Patients are always late to their appointments which really messes up the flow. I feel like the 30 minute time slots are usually enough time to see the patient and write my notes (except for combined Medicare annual wellness visits and “physicals.”) However, I don’t feel that I have enough time to review labs, documents, telephone encounters, or refill meds. I use templates and other things to get things done faster. Still I’ve been coming in early, working through lunch, staying late, working at home during the week and on the weekends. And it’s not just because I’m a slow new PA. The other PA and the MD I work with do the same. I like family medicine but I feel like I can’t sustain this. And now I’m feeling very nervous that this is just how medicine is and I picked the wrong career path. I like being a PA but I really just want to work a more reasonable number of hours. I am going to start looking for a new job soon. Any thoughts and advice would be greatly appreciated. 

• Administrator

Family medicine can be like that.  The good news is that with two years under your belt you can branch out into other things that are higher pay, fewer patients, and, honestly, more fun (for whatever you value as "fun").  My first 2-3 years in family medicine were pretty grueling too, but I left that behind.  Once you've got Malcolm Gladwell's 10,000 hours under your belt, you'll have a much better idea of what to sweat and what to NOT sweat, and it sounds you're really well on your way there.