Career Changer

Hello Everyone!

I'm 41 years old and venturing into a career change in medicine. I love science and taking care of people has been my calling for a while. Right now I'm in human resources but I've always been drawn to medicine and clinical side of it. After a lot of thinking and talking to people in the field, I've decided to start my pursuit. 

I have a master's degree with no science background. I have no healthcare/patient care experience. 

What would be your recommendation of where to start? I've signed up to take some prerequisites soon but trying to juggle current work and family and the career change is making me a bit anxious. 

Anyone in my situation? Would love some advice and direction.

Thank you!

Hello Everyone! I'm 41 years old and venturing into a career change in medicine. I love science and taking care of people has been my calling for a while. Right now I'm in human resources but I've always been drawn to medicine and clinical side of it. After a lot of thinking and talking to people in the field, I've decided to start my pursuit. 

I have a master's degree with no science background. I have no healthcare/patient care experience. 

What would be your recommendation of where to start? I've signed up to take some prerequisites soon but trying to juggle current work and family and the career change is making me a bit anxious. 

Thank you!

Lots of us have done that and, if it suits you, you could too.

First thing I would do is get some patient care training and experience. In my area, the option of becoming a volunteer EMT was practcal and doable at age 40. Then at least caring for people on what was definitely not their best day opens your eyes. There are other possible routes.

I took prereqs in night school at community college, so that’s an idea that might work for you and I didn’t quit my day job until a few weeks before PA school started.