Catch 22 - Job Required Before State Medical License ?????

Greetings,

I'm a Physician Assistant about to move to Atlanta from Florida. In the process of applying for my Georgia Medical License.

The Georgia Composite Medical Board tells me that I must have a job in Georgia and have the supervising physician sign the required paperwork BEFORE my Georgia medical license can be brought up to the board to even review and hopefully approve my application for a state license.

This is very odd and strange. The Medical Board only meets once a month and they say it could take 4-6 weeks to get approval or denial.

So I have to tell a prospective employer that if they want to hire me that they have to hire me first, then wait at least 4-6 weeks to even see if I get approved for a state license before I can work for them?? This is absurd. I've never heard of this before. In Florida you get your license first THEN you go out and get a job.

Feedback from Georgia PA's would be appreciated. Thanks.

Greetings,

I'm a Physician Assistant about to move to Atlanta from Florida. In the process of applying for my Georgia Medical License.

The Georgia Composite Medical Board tells me that I must have a job in Georgia and have the supervising physician sign the required paperwork BEFORE my Georgia medical license can be brought up to the board to even review and hopefully approve my application for a state license.

This is very odd and strange. The Medical Board only meets once a month and they say it could take 4-6 weeks to get approval or denial.

So I have to tell a prospective employer that if they want to hire me that they have to hire me first, then wait at least 4-6 weeks to even see if I get approved for a state license before I can work for them?? This is absurd. I've never heard of this before. In Florida you get your license first THEN you go out and get a job.