So I am a new grad who case been practicing only a few months. I am at a busy fqhc where I work in primary care. A lot of my patients are very sick/complicated, and I have 15 minute appts. So today I was approached by the CMO and told that the pain management guy we had working with us will be leaving soon. He asked me if I felt comfortable continuing to prescribe the pain meds "my patients" have been receiving. When I said I wasn't comfortable he asked me if my license or my patients were more important to me. Long story short he was pressuring me and while I didn't say yes I didn't say a hard no either. I feel like I want to send him an email with a more definitive no but I'm worried about repercussions. Any advice?

He was flat out bullying you.  Tell this POS cmo you’re out.  He literally is making money off of you, with zero- zilch, none, nada-risk to him.  
One slip up, you are gone, and he’ll still be there.  You are the money making fall guy.

Has any one, ever, said “hey, the cardiologist is leaving, you want to take over cardiology for a wee bit”?  No.  And pain management is a specialty in its own right.

He’ll say no repercussions but there will be.  The second the tiniest thing happens, he will be all over you.   

• Like 2
  • Upvote 5

I have actually had similar expereince

I think saying up front that you in general do not beleive in chronic opiates, benzos and controlled substances and that you will likely be taking almost everyone off their meds in a slow tapering fashion.  See what the response is (BTW this is a NIGHTMARE situation and one that ABSOLUTELY should not be done by a new grad)

You need to reach out to your SP and medical director and just calmly, professionally, state that you are not getting the mentoring you need and that you are not comfortable in your skin.  In no way would I consider taking those patients on as a new grad, they are some of the hardest patients ever to deal with, they will eat you alive