New grad job offer

Ā 

UPDATE: After I asked to meet in-person to discuss to negotiate the contract, the offer of employment was rescinded šŸ˜‚šŸ¤·šŸ½ā€ā™€ļø.Ā 

Ā 

Advice on neurology outpatient private practice job offer:

I am a new grad and was offered a job after a phone interview (no meeting in person). I am in Southern CA.Ā 

Excepted to see 21-24 patients per day after training period, but then was told 3-4/hour. I would begin with follow ups.

Pay: hourly, $55 for 1-3 months during "training" and $60 thereafter. 40 hours a week, potential for overtime paid according to CA law, but only with prior approval of SP/owner.

Health insurance allowance to buy my own policy: $700/month.Ā 

No pension/retirement.

Prorated malpractice insurance coverage, I would be added to the group policy.Ā No tail coverage.

Prorated DEA license reimbursementĀ 

3 sick days/year and 2 weeks vacation.Ā 

CME amount listed as "stipend " to attend AAN conference with hourly wage paid during attendance.Ā 

Liquidated damages of $25K if I leave before August 2020.

QUESTION: The benefits package seems subpar, but I am not sure if my expectations are too high. I am concerned about a job offer being extended without meeting in person, I find this very odd, but they said they really "liked my resume and me". They did seem sort of desperate because a third physician left and now they are swamped.Ā 

Also, anyone have any recommendations for an attorney to look over contracts in Southern CA, or is that overkill?

Any input is much appreciated.Ā 

Thank you šŸ˜€

Edited by LPZ

• Administrator
31 minutes ago, LPZ said:

I am a new grad and was offered a job after a phone interview (no meeting in person).

Run.

They're so desperate for people to take their craptacular offer they're throwing offers around.Ā  I'll let others comment on how bad the rest of the offer is, but at least they aren't pretending to have it be salaried.

• Like 1
  • Upvote 1

Where to start...