Burn out? Switch fields? or just take time off?

The purpose of the post is to just gain insight from some experienced PA's out there.  I've been working as a PA for close to 15 years now.  I started in Emergency Medicine, then progressed to Urgent Care and Family practice.  I am very good at what I do but I feel very bored.

I've really started to not like working weekends because it's the best time to see my kids because they're in school during the week.  

I'm feeling trapped these days by a job that I don't feel like I get much satisfaction from but I get payed well.  I've thought about working in the hospital again (started in ER), so I wonder how different is it working as a hospitalist versus the ER?

Alternatively, there are pain management practices, occupational medicine practices that are more regular M through F type gigs.

Has anyone else experience this type of boredom and what have you done?  I could take another job for $30k-40k less, but then I'd have financial stress.  I am in my mid to late 40's so I think age may also be a factor here.

I appreciate any input as sometimes I feel paralyzed these days by all the stress and my procrastination in making a change.

Thank you.

Edited by tristatepac
Took out some personal info.

14 minutes ago, tristatepac said:

Has anyone else experience this type of boredom and what have you done?

I am nowhere near as experienced as you...going on 3-4 years.  But, I am in the process of transitioning from FM to ortho, partially for this reason.  I would call it more mind-numbing frustration, but call it what you will.  For the last 2 years I have worked 4 days per week, which both provided great flexibility for better life enjoyment but also for picking up per diem shifts for extra cash (which was huge for me this past year).  My employer is allowing me to stay at 4 days in my transition to ortho, with the blessing (and support) from the surgeon I'll be working with.