Am I making a mistake ????????

Hi 

I graduated in August 2019 and have been looking for a job since then. Finally I was offered my 'dream job' of hospital medicine.  It's a group of IM physicians who also cover three hospitals. I will be required to see 12-13 patients in three different hospitals and 6-7 patients in clinic the same day. There is no formal training except for 4-5 day orientation. The doctor is very confident that I can see 20 patients all by myself since I graduated from 'Duke'. He is offering my $120,000 and location is ideal since its only 15 minutes from my place but the idea of seeing 20 patients all by myself is quiet daunting and I am not way shape or form ready for it. At the same time job market is so saturated in my area.

Am I making a mistake If I decline this offer???????????

27 minutes ago, Boatswain2PA said:

Yes --- unless you are a genius, or have extensive hospital experience as a nurse.

Otherwise this is a recipe for a trainwreck.

Sweet Jebus....Trainwreck indeed.

Do yourself and your malpractice carrier a favor and do not do this.  Get some experience with an IM hospitalist doc and about 5 years under your belt before you try something like this.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Dukepa19 said:

Hi 

I graduated in August 2019 and have been looking for a job since then. Finally I was offered my 'dream job' of hospital medicine.  It's a group of IM physicians who also cover three hospitals. I will be required to see 12-13 patients in three different hospitals and 6-7 patients in clinic the same day. There is no formal training except for 4-5 day orientation. The doctor is very confident that I can see 20 patients all by myself since I graduated from 'Duke'. He is offering my $120,000 and location is ideal since its only 15 minutes from my place but the idea of seeing 20 patients all by myself is quiet daunting and I am not way shape or form ready for it. At the same time job market is so saturated in my area.