Psych PA offer Newish Grad

Hi everyone,

I’ve been working part time at a behavioral health clinic for the last 4 months and have been applying to other jobs. I received this offer from a hospital based outpatient psych clinic and would like some input.

Initially the offer was a salary of 89k with a good benefits package of 

-1500 CME , 1 week CME PTO

-28 days of PTO

-Paid holidays and weekends off with momthly 1/2 day Saturday clinic

- health, vision and dental insurance

-malpractice 

-no contract, just a formal offer letter

They gave me two days to decide and I was honest that I was underwhelmed with the salary and no potential for bonuses.

Now, they have come back with same salary and benefits as well as a 10,000 signing bonus and 2 year contract.

I’m pretty underwhelmed with the salary and now 2 year contract. This is a saturated area and I have not heard back from other positions so I am inclined to take it. 

Would you guys try to negotiate a higher base salary or accept offer as is?

Thank you!

I definitely would not accept the offer as is. It's best to stick with a 1 year contract; you never know what the future might hold. Plus 89k is ridiculously low. I made more than that as a new grad 3 years ago. Back then, I was in urgent care, but still....From what I've read, psych is supposed to pay really well. And don't feel obligated to take the offer just because you work there part-time.  They knew what the deal was since you first signed up. 

You could try negotiating, though they seem pretty inflexible. You could also try looking just outside of your target area. Where are you located? 

If you count the bonus as Abe notes above into a $94k/yr then math shows you'll end up making ~$48/hr. 

52wks - 6wks(PTO+CME) * 40hrs/wk + 48hrs of Saturdays = ~1928hrs