NEW GRAD Orthopedic PA position in CA

Hi! 

I am a NEW GRAD with an offer in the Central Valley of CA (not a major coastal city). I am from a major coastal city in CA, so I am a bit unsure about salaries out there. What do you guys think of this? Really appreciate all the help!

Salary: $100,000 (but $24/hr till CA license rolls in, which I heard can take foreverrrr)

Shift: M-F 8a-5p, no call..... 4 days clinic/ 1 day OR

CME: $1,000

License/Cert allowance: $600/yr

Match: 3% match

PTO:2 weeks (not too happy about this - did not mention sick days)

Benefit: ONLY medical

Malpractice: Tail covered

Can't help but think the salary is a bit low for simply being in CA (I know a classmate who got 120k in a larger coastal city but does have 1:6 call) and the benefits could be a bit better. They seem to be really pushing me to sign, which is throwing some flags for me. 

Surgeon was willing to train though and office staff seems nice!

Edited by 8123

You can sometimes get better offers in the central valley because it's harder to get good people up there. I think it's a low offer, you should negotiate. Are you in Fresno or Bakersfield? Also, CA license doesn't take that long, I think mines came in under a month.

Salary is good, but you should have a bonus based on productivity on top of that. When I started (LA) as a new grad 3-4 years ago (again ortho), my salary was 95K but I have 10% of all collections as a bonus. That's like 20-50K depending. I am also 5 days a week, no call.

CME is low, that's the cost of a typical ortho conference not including travel, lodging and food. You need at least double. You should also get at MINIMUM 3 days off for CME.

Why do they have to put a number on the license/certs? They should just cover state licence, NCCPA, and DEA when it comes up.

Match is okay.

PTO is low, I would push for another week on this, especially if there's no separate sick days.

Frankly for the CV 100k is low.